Back to All Events

Guest Artist Recital - Alexi Kenney, violin

  • Smith College - Sage Hall 144 Green Street Northampton, MA, 01063 United States (map)

Lyra Music Festival Presents Guest Artist Alexi Kenney (violin) in Recital
Smith College | Sage Hall | Earle Recital Hall    

Erwin Schulhoff, Sonata for Solo Violin (1927)                      
Esa-Pekka Salonen, Lachen Verlernt                             
Johann Sebastian Bach, Partita No. 3 in E Major BWV 1006
Eugène Ysaÿe, Sonata Op.27, No. 4 in e minor                   
Nicola Matteis, Fantasia                        
Kaija Saariaho, Nocturne                
George Enescu, Minstrel Op.28 (from Impressions d'enfance)
Johann Sebastian Bach, Chaconne (from Partita No. 2 in D minor)            

Tickets Available Here


The recipient of a 2016 Avery Fisher Career Grant, violinist Alexi Kenney has been called "a talent to watch" by the New York Times, which also noted his "architect's eye for structure and space and a tone that ranges from the achingly fragile to full-bodied robustness.” His win at the 2013 Concert Artists Guild Competition at the age of nineteen led to a critically acclaimed Carnegie Hall debut recital at Weill Hall.

Recent recitals include those at Caramoor, the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum and Jordan Hall in Boston, the Kennedy Center in Washington D.C., and at Lincoln Center's Mostly Mozart Festival. He has been profiled by Strings magazine and the New York Times, written for The Strad, and has been featured on Performance Today, WQXR-NY’s Young Artists Showcase, WFMT-Chicago, and NPR’s From the Top.

A passionate chamber musician, Alexi has performed at festivals including ChamberFest Cleveland, Festival Napa Valley, the Lake Champlain Chamber Music Festival, Marlboro, Music@Menlo, Open Chamber Music at Prussia Cove (UK), Ravinia, Yellow Barn, and on tour with Musicians from Ravinia’s Steans Institute and Musicians from Marlboro, collaborating with artists including Pamela Frank, Miriam Fried, Gary Graffman, Steven Isserlis, Kim Kashkashian, Gidon Kremer, and Christian Tetzlaff.